Monday, February 11, 2008

Civil Rights Legends Nominated For NCRM Board...

Arkansas Delta Truth and Justice Center

Civil Rights Legends
Nominated for Museum Board

The Arkansas Delta Truth and Justice Center commends the nominations of civil rights movement living legend Reverend C.T. Vivian and other acclaimed civil rights movement veterans, historians, and public servants to serve on the board of the National Civil Rights Museum.

The Lorraine Motel Civil Rights Museum Community Oversight Committee, a community activist organization, has nominated Reverend Vivian and other accomplished individuals including among others:

Bill Lucy
- International Secretary-Treasurer of
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME)
- highest ranking African American in Labor movement
- native of Memphis

TN State Rep. Barbara Cooper
- Chair of TN Black Caucus

James O. Jones
- former Arkansas Director of
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee
(SNCC) civil rights organization,

Jimmie Travis
- Chairman of Board
Veterans of the Mississippi
Civil Rights Movement

Hollis Watkins
- life long civil rights activist;
- founder of Southern Echo
human rights organization

Rev. Charles Sherrod
- Albany, Georgia movement leader;
- life long civil rights activist

Dr. Wesley Hogan
- critically acclaimed civil rights historian and author

Rev. Dr. Ruben Green
- leading theologian and educator
- Pastor of Central Baptist Church in Memphis
- Professor at LeMoyne Owen College

Carlissia Graham
- University of Memphis student leader
- Youth activist
- Editor of several African-American publications

Other nominees submitted by various sources include:
Dr. Curtis Austin
- movement historian and author;
- Director, Center for Oral History
and Cultural Heritage,
University of Southern Mississippi

Dr. Cleveland Sellers
- movement veteran and author;
- Director, African-American Studies,
University of South Carolina

Information on the other nominees named above and the names of several additional nominees and their information can be obtained from the Arkansas Delta Truth and Justice Center ( and other sources.
We look forward to the current board of the museum considering and, hopefully,
taking positive action on these outstanding nominees for membership on the board.
You may send a message of support for the nominees to:

"Attention of Nominating Committee"
fax: (901) 521-9740
Street address: 450 Mulberry, Memphis, TN 38103

You may also attend the Board Meeting on Thursday, February 21, at 4 p.m. at the museum, during which voting will occur on memberships, to show your support.

No comments: